Simpson Preview

Simpson College Storm
Head Coach: Clint Manny
Years at School as head coach: 3rd year
Career Record at school: 4-26
Assistant Coaches: Bob Dyer, Jared Creason, Drew Duff

Dual Meet Record: 2-12

Top returning starters:
Jeff Sand (So.): 133 (4th in IIAC last year)
Caleb Brus (Sr.): moving from 141 to 149  (25-11 in 2009-10)
Calvin Barber (Sr.): injured last year, will be at 157
Jordy Ammons (Sr.): 174; 3-year varsity returner

Top incoming wrestlers:
Jake Demmon: UNI transfer, 125: 3x Iowa placer, Iowa state champion
Stephen Blayer: 141; Ia state place winner
Derek Entz: 133; 3rd Washington State place winner
Levi Michener: 165; 2nd in Missouri state place winner
Justin Bruce; 165 Missouri state place winner
Mitch Hackett: 157 Iowa state place winner
Casey Young: transfer, 165 Iowa state place winner
Spencer Lueders: 197 Iowa state place winner
Tanner Erdman: 184 Nebraska state place winner
Others: Jordan Howell, IA; Kody Havens, IA; Jimmy Thomsen, IA; Taylor Witzel, IA; Zach Edler, IA; Jared Bevins, IA

Season outlook:
Four IIAC placewinners return for Simpson as they try to move up in the conference standings.  Aiding in that efford is the addition of 16 new freshmen, nine of whom were state placewinners in high school.  That will help raise the level in the practice room and create competition for starting spots that will result in a better finish in 2010-2011.  Getting a lineup with ten competitive wrestlers on the mat is the first step toward success, and Simpson appears to be well on their way, even in the toughest conference in Division III.