UW-Oshkosh Preview

University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh Titans
Head Coach: Mike DeRoehn
Years at School as head coach: 5
Assistant Coaches: Chris Stratton, Nick Matiash, Joe Terrill, Larry Marchionda

2008-2009 Dual Meet Record: 8-5
2008-2009 National Qualifier: Sam Engelland-NQ
Returning Qualifiers: Sam Engelland-NQ & Sam Laes-NQ (Transfer-Lawrence)
Number of returning wrestlers who competed in 2009 national qualifier: 9

Top returning starters:
174-Sam Engelland-2009 NCAA Qualifer; 26-14 as a freshman
165-James Dederich 27-12
HWT-Jason Laplante 18-10

Top incoming wrestlers:
Sam Laes-2009 NCAA Qualifier (Transfer-Lawrence); 2008 WI State Champion Jon Junk; 4x WI State Qualifier Dan Schiferl; 3x WI State Placer Trevor Dyreson (Transfer-Augsburg); WI State Runner-up Aaron Erickson; Florida placer Spencer Van Buskirk

UW-Oshkosh returns nine of ten starters from last year’s squad, but there could be many line up changes.  Sixteen newcomers join 20 returning wrestlers to give the Titans good depth in the room.  Most notably, Sam Laes, a national qualifier for Lawrence last season, has transferred to Oshkosh after Lawrence dropped their wrestling team.  Also back is national qualifier Sam Engelland who qualified for the NCAA tournament as a freshman last year.  He and Laes will be a solid 1-2 punch at 174 and 184.  The team is young with just one senior, and 2009-2010 should be another step toward the goals set out by Head Coach Mike DeRoehn.