Home Coaches Peterson to Resign at Simpson

Peterson to Resign at Simpson


Ron Peterson announced his resignation effective at season’s end from Simpson College.  This is the second Iowa Conference coach to announce his resignation this week.  Release below.

Simpson College Head Wrestling Coach Ron Peterson To Resign At End Of Season

Simpson College athletic director John Sirianni has announced the resignation of Storm head wrestling coach Ron Peterson. Peterson also served as assistant athletic director and assistant professor of physical education. He is in his 13th season with the Storm. His resignation is effective upon the conclusion of the 2008 season.

Sirianni said he was surprised and saddened to hear Peterson would be leaving.

“Ron has meant so much to the Storm athletic program over the years,” Sirianni said.  “As a coach teacher, and administrator, he has represented the quality and values so important to this college, but more importantly he has touched the lives of hundreds of student-athletes. He’s a strong administrator, a fierce competitor, and a great friend. We’ll all miss him and wish him the best.”

Peterson said he has been proud to be a part of many great moments in Storm wrestling and Simpson athletic history.

“I want to thank the Simpson community for their steadfast support of me during my years at Simpson,” Peterson said. “It was a pleasure to have the opportunity to work with some of the best athletes in the country. These guys are tremendous individuals and I am very proud to say I was their coach. I will miss every one of them and the many others who have helped me during my career. It is time for my family and I to ride a different trail. It has been fun.”

In 13 seasons at the helm, Peterson has become the winningest coach in the history of the Storm program, compiling a dual record of 195-105-2 (a .649 winning percentage). A Simpson wrestler has qualified for nationals 41 times during Peterson’s watch with 12 earning 19 All-American certificates.  Cory Christensen (1998) and Nick Ackerman (2001) won national championships. Academically, seven Simpson wrestlers earned Scholar All-American honors 13 times from the National Wrestling Coaches Assocation.  Ackerman’s victory was chosen by the NCAA as one of the organization’s “25 Defining Moments” to celebrate the 100th anniversary of the NCAA.

Peterson’s Storm finished third in their first appearance at the NWCA/Cliff Keen Division III National Duals in 2004 and were eighth at the meet in 2006. Simpson set the school record for most dual wins in a season with 28 in 2003-04.  Three of Simpson’s top four performances (fifth in 1998, fifth in 2004, and sixth in 2005, ninth in 2006) at the NCAA Tournament occurred during Peterson’s reign.

In 15 years on the prep level with Clarksville and Cedar Rapids Prairie High School, Peterson posted a 177-25-3 record. He led Clarksville to the 1989 and 1990 Class 1A state dual deet Championships as well as the 1991 Class 1 A traditonal state title. Peterson’s Prairie squads won the state 3A dual meet championship in 1994 and the 1995 Class 3A traditional state title. He was named Coach of the Year by the Iowa High School Athletic Association in both Class 1A (1988) and Class 3A (1994).

A national search will begin immediately to find Peterson’s successor.