Coe Preview

Coe had five All-Americans last year and placed fourth as a team which easily made 2008-2009 the most successful season in team history.  Three Kohawks made the finals, and Tyler Burkle capped an undefeated season by becoming the first NCAA champion in the history of Coe Wrestling.  Clayton Rush and Tyler Jentz each also made the finals before settling for 2nd place.  All three Coe finalists return this season as the team continues its ascent up the NCAA standings.  Jentz will be back in the second semester to complete his final season.  Beyond finalists Rush, Jentz, and Burkle, Rob Kramer returns after a season in which he exceeded expectations, going from unseeded to fourth place in the nation.  This strong core, plus 30 match winner Greg Lalla, will be augmented by a recruiting class including transfers Mark Carey from central Missouri and Bryan Telgenhoff of Ellsworth CC.  It is an exciting time at Coe, and another trophy is in site for 2009.

Team: Coe College
Head Coach: John Oostendorp (Iowa ’93)
Years at School as head coach: 7
Assistant Coaches: Dustin Hinschberger, Eric Casey, Marcus Kurtz, Dustin Bliven, Ted Drees, Nick Cole

2007-2008 Dual Meet Record:  18-5
2007-2008 National Qualifiers and All-Americans: Claytlon Rush (125/2nd), Tyler Burkle (165/1st), Tyler Jentz (174/2nd), Rob Kramer (197/4th), Niles Mercer (141/6th)
Returning Qualifiers and All-Americans: Rush, Burkle, Jentz, Kramer

Top returning starters: 125 Claytlon Rush 2nd NCAA 2nd IIAC, 165 Tyler Burkle 1st NCAA 1st IIAC undefeated, 174 Tyler Jentz 2nd NCAA 1st IIAC, 197 Rob Kramer 4th NCAA 3rd IIAC, 184 Greg Lalla 4th IIAC

Top incoming wrestlers:
125 Josh Eller
133 Danny Beishar, James Locke, Jordan Westfall
141 Josh Marin, Johnny Siegal, Trent Tucker
149 Mark Carey Central MO Transfer, Bryan Telgenhoff Ellworth CC Tranfer, Chris Mascaro, Jason Taylor-Ohmes
157 Dale Handley
184 Matt Ferlitsch
197 Kyle Thompson