Buena Vista Preview

Sevond Cole returns five of last year’s starters at Buena Vista for his first year as head coach.  Tops among these are 4th place finisher Aaron Cook who may move up from 149 to 157 this season.  Also back is NCAA qualifier Julian Mancha.  Mancha was planning to transfer to Iowa State, but the Minnesota native ultimately decided to return to BV to seek his first All-American award.  Rounding out the returning starters is 125lb. Mike Miille and 197 lb. Brian Stueve.  Both placed in the IIAC last  year and hope to garner one of the automatic qualifying spots in 2008-2009.  They will help to pick up the slack left by graduated 4x All-American Jestin Hulegaarg, who wrapped up an outstanding career with an 8th place finish in 2008.  The recruiting class brought into Buena Vista is diverse with nine different states represented.  Another year of experience for Cook and Mancha along with a strong incoming class has Cole and the Beavers aiming to improve on last season’s fifth place IIAC finish.

Team: Buena Vista University
Head Coach: Sevond Cole (Buena Vista ’01)
Years at School as head coach: 1st
Assistant Coaches: Dana Vote, Jamie Taxted, and Josh Murray (student assistant)

2007-2008 Dual Meet Record: 10-5
2007-2008 National Qualifiers and All-Americans: Aaron Cook (4th/149), Justin Hulegaard (8th/133), Julian Mancha (165)
Returning Qualifiers and All-Americans: Cook and Mancha
Number of returning wrestlers who competed in your 2008 national qualifier: 5

Top returning starters: Aaron Cook – All American, 2nd IIAC; Mike Miille – 5th IIAC Conference Tournament; Julian Mancha – 3rd IIAC; Brian Stueve – 4th IIAC

Top incoming wrestlers: Derek Toney- 2x Washington State Champion, Jacob Ingalls 7th Iowa State Tournament, Brute-Adidas All-American, Jordan Troshynski-2x IA State medalist 5th and 4th, Roman Villegas-6th and 2nd Kansas State Tournament, Josh Wilkins-2x High School Conference Champion, Cadet Greco All-American, Brute-Adidas All-American, Lee Beumer 3x Iowa State Qualifier, 3x High School Conference Champion