2022 CoSIDA Academic All-Americans Named

Seven wrestlers were named to the CoSIDA Academic All-America® Division III At-Large teams today. Each of the seven were among the 12 wrestlers who had previously been named to the All-District team, making them eligible for selection as Academic All-Americans.

Leading the group are a pair of first team honorees. Jack Heldt of Wabash and Brett Kaliner of Stevens were named first team Academic All-Americans. Heldt was a national runner-up at 197 for Wabash and was the Elite 90 award winner for Division III wrestling. Kaliner was the 149 lbs. NCAA Champion and was a second team honoree in 2021.

Bradan Birt (NCAA Champion, Millikin), Ben Sarasin (NCAA Qualifier, Chicago), and Tyler Shilson (NCAA 3rd, Augsburg) were named to the second team. Birt was also a second team member in 2021, while Sarasin and Shilson received their first honors this year.

Third team honorees include Loras teammates Shane Liegel (NCAA 4th) and Zeke Smith (NCAA Qualifier). Each had previously been honored, as Smith made the first team in 2021 and Liegel was on the second team last season.

Full Release – CoSIDA Academic All-America® Division III At-Large Teams