2020 Wrestler of the Year

The 2020 d3wrestle.com Wrestler of the Year is Troy Stanich of Stevens Institute of Technology. The senior from Succasunna, New Jersey, finished the season with a 26-2 record and was the #1 seed at the canceled NCAA Championships at 141 lbs. This honor is one of many for Stanich this year as he was the MAC Wrestler of the Year, NCAA Most Dominant award winner with 5.35 team points per match, and became an NWCA Scholar All-American for the fourth time.

Stanich was undefeated against Division III competition, and only four of his matches against Division III lasted seven minutes. Overall, he amassed 14 falls, 5 tech falls, 3 major decisions, and 3 decisions. He won titles at Washington & Jefferson, York, the MAC Championships, and the Southeast Region, which earned him the top seed at the NCAA championships.

The Stevens wrestler finished 3rd in the 2017 and 2018 NCAA championships and was a four time NCAA qualifier in his career. He won four conference titles, three of which were in the Centennial Conference and the last in the MAC. He was a four time regional finalist and three time champion. His final career record is 150-7.

Past Wrestlers of the Year
2019 – Darden Schurg, Wabash
2018 – Jordan Newman, Whitewater
2017 – Riley Lefever, Wabash
2016 – Riley Lefever, Wabash
2015 – Mike Fuenffinger, Augsburg
2014 – Nazar Kulchytskyy, Oshkosh
2013 – Nazar Kulchytskyy, Oshkosh
2012 – Byron Tate, Wartburg
2011 – Minga Batsukh, St. John’s
2010 – Clayton Rush, Coe