2016 Coach of the Year

Bryan Brunk

The 2016 d3wrestle.com Coach of the Year is Bryan Brunk of Messiah College. Brunk led the Falcons to their best ever finish at the NCAA Championships where they took 2nd place and scored 100 points. Messiah had a record seven national qualifiers, six All-Americans, three finalists, and two NCAA Champions in Lucas Malmberg at 125 and Ben Swarr at 174. Messiah won the Mideast Regional for the third consecutive year and finished with an 18-2 dual meet record along with team titles at the Messiah Invitational, Petrofes Invitational, and MAC Championships.

In addition to Malmberg and Swarr, Larry Cannon (4th at 157), Jeff Hojnacki (6th at 165), Josh Thomson (2nd at 184), and Jason Wright (6th at 285) all became All-Americans while Kyle Koser (197) qualified for the championships. Thomson became a four time All-American with a 2nd place finish at 184 lbs. and finishes his career as the all-time wins leader in Messiah College history.

Brunk, now in his 13th season at Messiah, was named the Mideast Region Coach of the Year, MAC Coach of the year, and NWCA Division III Coach of the Year. It was the second NWCA award for Brunk, as he also was named Coach of the Year in 2014.

Previous Winners
2015 – Eric Keller, Wartburg
2014 – Tim Fader, Whitewater
2013 – Steve Marianetti, Elmhurst
2012 – Jim Miller & Eric Keller, Wartburg
2011 – Mark Hawald, Mount Union
2010 – Dave Malecek, La Crosse