2020 Freshman of the Year and All-Freshman Team

The d3wrestle.com Freshman of the Year award is given to the top Division III wrestler who competed in high school in the previous season. The 2020 Freshman of the Year is Ryan Anderson of Centenary University. Anderson came to the Cyclones from Bethlehem Catholic High School where he was a two-time state champion and three-time placewinner, helping his team to a pair of state duals championships.

Anderson was the #1 seed at 149 lbs. in the canceled NCAA Championships and was ranked 1st in the final d3wrestle.com Rankings. He finished the season with a 31-3 record and did not lose to a DIII opponent. He won his last 28 matches in a row to finish his season with a title in the Mideast Regional. He also won the Doug Parker Invitational, Bob Quade Cyclone Open, and the Shorty Hitchcock Open. He had 15 falls this season with 13 coming in the first period. His final regular season victory came against the previously #1 ranked wrestler at his weight, and his final victory of the season was a win over a 2018 NCAA champion. Anderson is the second winner from Centenary after Chris Burdge in 2011.

For 2020, the d3wrestle.com All-Freshman team is any wrestler listed on their team’s roster as a freshman or redshirt freshman. This list was taken and verified from the TrackWrestling NCAA brackets. If someone was missed, please put it in the comments so everyone who ought to be recognized has the opportunity.

Jack StanleyBaldwin Wallace125
Zac BlasioliMillikin125
Robbie PrecinNorth Central125
Joey ManginelliSpringfield125
Travis JonesIthaca133
Hayden BrownJohnson & Wales133
Kyle SlendornStevens133
Noah CaskeyCoast Guard141
Riley WrightCoe141
Garret CornellMessiah141
Chandler MerwinCortland141
Ryan AndersonCentenary149
Chase SumnerOhio Northern149
Ryan WhittenOtterbein157
Charlie GrygasOswego165
Zack LawrenceSpringfield165
George MoseleyAverett184
Doug ByrneBaldwin Wallace184
Shane LiegelLoras184
Tonee EllisAlvernia197
Gabriel ZierdenConcordia-Moorhead197
Cole FibranzChicago285
Wyatt WriedtLoras285
Rocky McGearyWaynesburg285

Previous Freshman of the Year Winners
2019 – Antonio McCloud, Mount St. Joseph
2018 – Brett Kaliner, Stevens
2017 – Troy Stanich, Stevens
2016 – Angus Arthur, Adrian
2015 – Matthew Grossmann, Wilkes
2014 – Riley Lefever, Wabash
2013 – Josh Thomson, Messiah
2012 – Nate Giorgio, Coast Guard
2011 – Chris Burdge, Centenary
2010 – Kyle Kwiat, Ohio Northern