2018 Wrestler of the Year

Jordan Newman March 22

The 2018 d3wrestle.com Wrestler of the Year is Jordan Newman of Whitewater. Newman won his second NCAA championship at 184 lbs. and was the only repeat champion in 2018 in Division III. Newman spent almost the entire season at 197 lbs. before dropping to 184 for the postseason. He compiled a 28-2 record on the season with 15 falls, won the Upper Midwest Region, and was also named the Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Wrestler of the Year. At the NCAA Championships, he sandwiched a decision between two pins before winning 9-1 in the finals to become the second wrestler ever at Whitewater with multiple championships.

Newman, a senior from Blaine, Minnesota, finished his career as a three time All-American. He finished 8th as a sophomore at 174 lbs. before winning back to back titles in 2017 and 2018 at 184. During the 2017-2018 season, he defeated seven different 2018 NCAA qualifiers during the regular season and regional tournaments. He added three more at the NCAA tournament to give him wins against ten different NCAA qualifiers spread between 184 and 197 lbs. That includes two wins over the 2018 NCAA champion at 197 lbs. as well as wins against five other 2018 All-Americans.

The physical education major finishes his career with 84 wins, two regional titles and, two WIAC titles, and he was part of three top ten teams as the Warhawks finished 9th this year, 4th in 2015, and 2nd in 2014. Congratulations to Jordan Newman, the d3wrestle.com Wrestler of the Year.

Previous Winners
2017 – Riley Lefever, Wabash
2016 – Riley Lefever, Wabash
2015 – Mike Fuenffinger, Augsburg
2014 – Nazar Kulchytskyy, Oshkosh
2013 – Nazar Kulchytskyy, Oshkosh
2012 – Byron Tate, Wartburg
2011 – Minga Batsukh, St. John’s
2010 – Clayton Rush, Coe