Springfield Preview

Springfield College Pride
Head Coach: Daryl Arroyo
Years at School as head coach: 20
Career Record at school: 278-151-6
Assistant Coaches:  Jason Holder, Mark DeCiccio, Keith Poloskey, Chris Brown, Nate Russell

2008-2009 Dual Meet Record:  13-10
2008-2009 National Qualifiers and All-Americans: Chris Brown (285/NQ)
Number of returning wrestlers who competed in 2009 national qualifier: 6

Top returning starters with accomplishments:
Eddie Giron (JR) – 133 (4th NEWA)
Ryan McGilvray (SO) – 141 (5th NEWA)
Oscar Orellana (SR)– 149 (6th NEWA) – joining team 2nd semester
Chris Perry (165) – (5th NEWA)

Top incoming wrestlers:
Lucas Bowman (184/197) – 1st CT, 1st NE
Jeremy Burns (184/197) – 2nd NY
Jeff Bodeur – Transfer (174/184) – 2nd MA, 3rd NE
Joel Altavesta (174/184) – 1st MA, 4th NE
Tim Vollaro (165/174) – 1st CT, 2nd NE
Mike Powers (157) – 6th NY
Derrick Longo (149) – 6th NY
Justin Clarke (141/149) – NJ Qualifier
Joe Grippi (133) – 2nd NY
Joe Ortiz (125/133) – NJ Qualifier
Mike Rose (125) – NY Qualifier

Springfield returns six starters from last year’s 4th place NEWA team including four NEWA placewinners that will form the backbone of the lineup.  National qualifier Chris Brown will be missed, but Springfield’s depth will help them fill that spot with an experienced wrestler.  There are upperclassmen returning at almost every weight, so the competition will be fierce for starting spots, as their typically large recruiting class includes numerous state placewinners and qualifiers.  They start the season at the Ithaca invitational and hope to have the lineup questions sorted out by the time they hit the conference schedule in January.

Potential Lineup

125 –  Freshmen Joe Ortiz and Mike Rose.
Casey Leslie (JR) could be a factor if he gets down to 125.

133 –  Eddie Giron
Joe Grippi.

141 –  Blaze Chatham – JR (injured last season)
Justin Clarke

149 – Ryan McGilvray
Steve Flathers (JR)

157 –  John Archambeau (JR)
Ron Thompson (SO)

165 –  Chris Perry (SR)
Tim Vollaro

174 –  Tyler LeBlanc (SR)
Joel Altavesta (FR)

184 –  Brandon Sundwall (JR)
Jeff Brodeur (SO)

197 –  Bill Schady
Jeremy Burns and Lucas Bowman (FR)

285 –  Ron Fusco (JR)
Rich Wigglesworth (SO)